The Lip Bar Review

I’m switching gears and posting my product reviews here instead of on YouTube to make way for my interviews, in the mean time here is my first product review on my blog! Enjoy!

First Impressions

IMG_3298Soooo finally, it’s here! My Lip Bar lipstick came in the mail :) I ordered noir (a deep plum) and cosmo 2283 ( a bright red). The packaging was more than I expected and the box was sent just like a gift. Aesthetics and taking the time to brand all the way through to shipping is a major plus to me. Give me the wrapping paper, big bow, confetti, info or thank you card and pretty gift wrapped box all day long! lol. It enhances that “feeling you get” and quality of the brand. My real shoppers know what I’m talking about when I say that feeling ;)  The lipstick tube itself is so unique with it’s clear stain glass panes. So much so, I feel like if you were out and about or in the ladies room and you were touching up your lips, someone would ask who it was by just off the look. I also love how the product feels on my lips, very soft and lite. The application is smooth and easy and a little goes a looooong way. Theses lipsticks are VERY pigmented, so I feel like using less will help it last longer. The scent is nondescript, which is also a plus because some lipsticks have an odd scent and natural products sometimes smell like the base ingredient (coconut oil or shea butter).  I don’t mind that on my skin but not all the time on my lips. Moving on, the colors were exactly what I expected from the website and the shipping was prompt. I decided to wear the red and put it on in the a.m. with a soft natural eye. By noon I hadn’t touched it up yet,so the hold is amazing without having to be a lip stain. That was another star in my rating! IMG_3307

A little bit about the Company

In 2011, Melissa Butler came up with idea to create, bright colored lipstick with natural ingredients like vitamin E, shea butter and avocado oil. I first discovered the company after it aired on Shark Tank. Though the team didn’t receive funding, they walked away still secure and confident in the brand. The Lip Bar played a major role in the new trend of more courageous lip colors, especially for women of color. Now every where you go, big name makeup companies have followed suite creating bright hues of lipsticks as well. You can find the cool blues, luscious greens and fuchsias lining Chinese beauty supply and drugstores shelves. They have since been featured in Essence, Cosmopolitan and Ebony magazine!

Final thoughts

I consider the Lip Bar line of products to be on the high end side of cosmetics. Their theme, branding and message is targeted toward grown women, (and in my personal opinion, particularly those with disposable income) The price point might be a deterrent for some, but for me it was was worth knowing I was buying black and receiving all vegan products. I’m a joined the “martini club” membership offered on their website, which offers

  • Birthday Gifts
  • Exclusive Offers and Pre- Orders
  • Potential to Earn Free Cocktails

so I’ll definitely be buying more in the future!

Visit the Lip Bar Site

4 thoughts on “The Lip Bar Review

  1. The Girl In a Cocktail Dress says:

    Hello! Just thought I’d “drop” you a comment letting you know that I really enjoyed scrolling through your post! I found it very cool, interesting (and stylish too!!)
    Keep it up!!
    Come check out my blog if you get the time, would love to get your feedback!
    Keep blogging!
    Love,
    Mimi
    Ps. Both colours look great!

    • Ashley Laine says:

      Thank you so much for doing so! It’s encouraging to know my blog is appreciated! I will def. visit your blog too! Happy writing!

Leave a Reply

