The struggle: minimalist lifestyle? 

I called myself going minimalist back in my 2nd trimester with my youngest daughter, Raelle …I have always been naturally eclectic, I had tons of collections of stuff and things I didn’t even need. I would thrift shop and find odd do-dads and buy them just because I had never seen something like that before. Skip ahead 10+ years I had just gotten over 4 months of morning sicknes. I think it was the nesting phase kicking in. You can imagine the condition of my closets, drawers and behind “stuff” after being untouched for so long. I just didn’t have the energy to deep clean my home prior to that time. I was amazed at how much stuff I didn’t need and could live without when it was out of sight, out of mind. I even had a small storage unit that was costing us $50 a month, I couldn’t even remember what was in there. So after delving into some great YouTubes on how to start minimalism, I pulled out the trash bags and boxes and started packing.

The madness in the cleaning:

At first I was just roaming my house with no plan, no goal, just dumping. I thought that’s what I needed to do. Declutter. Everyday I was bugging my ( at the time fiance’) to take stuff to the dumpster or goodwill. But the more I took out the house, the more stuff emerged. What I thought would take a few days, stretched out into weeks and I was burnt out. It was complete and utter madness in my search for organization.

Starting with a plan:

I knew I wanted less stuff around me and I wasn’t going to give up… But I needed to slow down, be in the moment and categorize my items. Thanks to YouTube’s video suggestions I then stumbled upon the Marie Kondo method and her amazing book. I was intrigued, but it wasn’t until well after I had my 2nd daughter (she was almost 4 months old) that I stumbled upon her book, The life changing Magic of Tidying Up, that it all came together. All and all pursuing minalism was a good experience and an I eye opener to the importance of my sacred space and how much I “consume/ buy”, but don’t need. I can’t say my wardrobe is down to less than 30 peices or my house is bare, but where I am is a start. My drawers and cabinets all have bins or little dividers.However, I am proud to say at the end of 2016 I am so glad I worked through the book. It is a wonderful eye opener and she explains how even when we think we are organized we sometimes miss the mark. I don’t have to necessarily live with less to feel lighter, but somehow only keeping what I absolutely love has lightened my home and heart. I impulse shop less and my daily chores are over all easier to manage. I practice putting things back in their designated areas and I try to quick clean behind myself so that messes don’t pile up as quickly. The dishes are a work  in progress. 😂

Ancient mothers also used to take pride in their homes, they would wash the walls, sage the space, remove shoes, burn incense and made their homes mini sanctuaries. These ways aren’t dead to me, I realize and keep me so grounded. They are vital to a clear mind and no matter what your spiritual beliefs are, they really do open up space to receive more from the universe. I love the ritual ties and I have even had time to pick up my hobbies again.

Everyday it gets better and clearer. Ase.

Leave a Reply

